Event Properties

In this article

With Permutive, customers are able to create real-time segments based on events and event properties.

An event is something that occurs and the property describes aspects of that occurrence. For example, when someone clicks on an affiliate link, the event being fired might be AffiliateClick.

However, that in itself might not be enough to create a rich segment. Instead, properties are included in each event. For example, the product.brand might be the brand name of the product and product.price might be the price point of that product. This allows for more nuanced segmentation.

Technical details on these can be found in our developers portal.

Standard Properties Across all Events

There are some event properties that are present in most of the events we track:

Name ID Type Required Description
 client domain  client.domain  String  Optional  The domain the user was at when the event occurred
 client referrer  client.referrer  String  Optional  The URL the user arrived from (eg. Google)
 client title  client.title  String  Optional  The page title that appears in the browser tab
 client type  client.type  String  Optional  E.g. web, FIA, AMP
 client URL  client.url  String  Optional  The URL the user was at when the event occurred
 client user agent  client.user_agent  String  Optional  The browser used when the event occurred

Events with Additional Standard Properties 

Form Submission Link Click PageView PageView Engagement
Name ID Type Required Description
form action  form.action  String  Optional URL of the user where the event occurred
form id  form.id  String  Optional The ID of the form you assign to identify it
form method  form.method  String  Optional GET/POST
form properties name  form.properties.name  String  Optional The name of the form 
form properties value  form.properties.value List of Objects  Optional The information input by the user

Slot Clicked, Slot Viewable and Slot Rendered

These events are collected from Google Ad Manager (formerly DFP). Slot Rendered is only available for analytics while SlotClicked and SlotViewable can be used for targeting.

Name ID Type Required Description
Advertiser ID  advertiser_id  Integer  Optional Unique to campaign, found in DFP
Campaign ID  campaign_id  Integer  Optional Unique to campaign, found in DFP
Creative ID  creative_id  Integer  Optional Unique to the creative, found in DFP
Height  height   Integer  Optional The height of the ad slot in pixels
Is empty  is_empty   Boolean  Optional  True of False, slot returned without the creative
Line Item ID  line_item_id   Integer   Optional Unique to campaign, found in DFP
Service Name  service_name  String  Optional  Set to 'publisher_ads' if from DFP
Slot Ad Unit Path  slot.ad_unit_path  String  Optional Unique to the campaign, found in DFP
Slot Slot Element ID  slot.slot_element_id   String  Optional  Unique to the campaign, found in DFP 
Slot Targeting Keys  slot.targeting_keys  List of objects  Optional  Unique to the campaign, found in DFP 
Slot Targeting Keys Key   slot.targeting_keys.key  String  Optional Unique to the campaign, found in DFP
Slot Targeting Key Value  slot.targeting_keys.value   List of Strings  Optional Unique to the campaign, found in DFP
Width  width   Integer  Optional Slot Width  

Example of Custom Properties

All events (including those defined by our customers) can include custom properties, in addition, the standard properties outlined above.

Pageview Gigya Profile
Name ID Type Required Description
Article Authors  content.article.authors  String  Optional  The author of the article
Article Category  content.article.category  String   Optional  The category the article falls into (if set)
Article Type   content.article.type   String   Optional The type the article falls into (if set)
Content Description   content.description  String   Optional The description given to article (if set)
Content Headline   content.headline  String   Optional The headline of the article
Product Make  content.product.make  String   Optional eg. BMW/Audi
Product Name  content.product.name  String   Optional  eg. BMW M4
Product Price  content.product.price  Integer  Optional The price listed on page as integer
Product Type  content.product.type  String  Optional eg. Hatchback
Review Rating   content.review.rating  Integer  Optional The review listed on page as integer eg. 4.5
Content Type   content.type  String  Optional eg. Review/Article etc
Note: Some properties may vary depending on the project.

Non-Properties

Non-properties are data points that are collected on every event, that aren't properties of the event. When creating segments you cannot explicitly refer to this data. However, you can build segments based on time, sessions and the segments a user is in.

Name ID Type  Required Description
 Partition Time   _PARTITIONTIME  String  Required Date Stamp
 Time  time  String  Required The exact time (non-nullable)
 Event ID  event_id  String  Required Unique identifier for that event (non-nullable)
 User ID  user_id  String  Required Unique identifier for that user
 Session ID  session_id   String   Required Unique identifier for that session
 View ID  view_id   String  Required  Unique identifier for that page
 Segments  segments  String  Required  The segments the user is currently in, listed as an array of the segments' codes.

If you have any questions, please contact customer support by emailing support@permutive.com or chat to the Customer Operations Team via the LiveChat icon in the bottom right corner of your screen.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request